Reformed Churchmen

We are Confessional Calvinists and a Prayer Book Church-people. In 2012, we remembered the 350th anniversary of the 1662 Book of Common Prayer; also, we remembered the 450th anniversary of John Jewel's sober, scholarly, and Reformed "An Apology of the Church of England." In 2013, we remembered the publication of the "Heidelberg Catechism" and the influence of Reformed theologians in England, including Heinrich Bullinger's Decades. For 2014: Tyndale's NT translation. For 2015, John Roger, Rowland Taylor and Bishop John Hooper's martyrdom, burned at the stakes. Books of the month. December 2014: Alan Jacob's "Book of Common Prayer" at: January 2015: A.F. Pollard's "Thomas Cranmer and the English Reformation: 1489-1556" at: February 2015: Jaspar Ridley's "Thomas Cranmer" at:

Sunday, January 11, 2015

January 1633 A.D. Scottish Episcopal Diocese of Edinburgh

January 1633 A.D.  Scottish Episcopal Diocese of Edinburgh

Scottish Episcopal Diocese of Edinburgh

The Bishop of Edinburgh is the Ordinary of the Scottish Episcopal Diocese of Edinburgh.

The see was founded in 1633 by King Charles I. William Forbes was consecrated in St. Giles' Cathedral as its first bishop on 23 January 1634 though he died later that year. The General Assembly of 1638 deposed Bishop David Lindsay and all the other bishops, so the next, George Wishart, was consecrated in 1662 after the Restoration. In 1690 it was Bishop Alexander Rose (1687–1720) whose unwelcome reply to King William III led to the disestablishment of the Scottish Episcopalians as Jacobite sympathisers, and it was he who led his congregation from St. Giles to a former wool store as their meeting house, on the site now occupied by Old Saint Paul's Church.

After the repeal of the penal laws in 1792 and the reuniting of Episcopal and 'Qualified' congregations, the Diocese grew under the leadership of Bishops Daniel Sandford, James Walker, C.H. Terrot and Henry Cotterill. The high point of the 19th Century was the consecration of St Mary’s Cathedral in 1879.

The current Bishop is The Right Revd Dr John Armes. He became Bishop-elect of Edinburgh on 11 February 2012[1] and was consecrated and installed as Bishop on 12 May 2012.[2]


List of bishops

John Dowden, Irish historian of the Scottish church, and bishop of Edinburgh

Church of Scotland bishops.[3][4][5]

Scottish Episcopal Church bishops.[6][7][8]

See also


3.       Jump up ^ Keith 1824, An Historical Catalogue of the Scottish Bishops, pp.60–72.

4.       Jump up ^ Scott 1928, Fasti Ecclesae Scoticanae, volume 7, pp.341–343.

5.       Jump up ^ Fryde et al. 1986, Handbook of British Chronology, p. 309.

6.       Jump up ^ Keith 1824, An Historical Catalogue of the Scottish Bishops, pp.524–530.

7.       Jump up ^ Skinner 1818, Annals of Scottish Episcopacy, pp.533–538.

8.       Jump up ^ Bertie 2000, Scottish Episcopal Clergy, p.561.


External links

No comments: